Pierrine’s First Wedding Fayre

Pierrine had its first stand at a wedding fayre yesterday and I wanted to let you know how it went.

There are several wedding fayres on at the moment in Guernsey and I decided to have a stand at the annual Wedding Fayre at St Pierre Park Hotel on Sunday 6th February. It was a very well attended fayre and was on for four hours.

It was my first year at this event and Pierrine was allocated a stand in the Victor Hugo Restaurant with a few other local businesses including Bonboniera, Creative Photography, Chris Taylor Guitar, Thomas Cook and Rebecca’s Chocolates. Initially I thought being in the restaurant was not the best location within the fayre but it did have its advantages.

The restaurant was separate to the other rooms so I think a few people may have missed it but staff were at hand to direct attendees to the room and there was a room plan at reception. The room was very tranquil and not too cramped with stands which was lovely. Chris Taylor playing his guitar added to the relaxing ambiance.

I think next year they could do with putting up balloons or at least a sign outside the restaurant entrance so people arriving at the hotel can see that exhibitors were in this room too.

There was an hour before the fashion show started and we had a nice trickle of people coming around. Pierrine’s stand was next to Bonboniera’s and they had put up an archway of balloons which unintentionally gave my stand a grand framing. I was not selling anything on the day so could relax knowing that my portfolio of my 2010 designs would do the hard work for me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had some lovely feedback from passersby about my jewellery, photographs and album and am happy to know it was worth the money to get these done by Photobox.

During the fashion show it was very quiet but fortunately my family came to see me during this period and allowed them to look around the other stalls in peace. After the show, there was another trickle of visitors to the room and I even got orders for three items on the day.

The show was due to finish at 6pm but most people had left by 5.30pm so I packed up. I returned home to find an email enquiry from someone who had attended the fayre so already the event is paying off.

To round-up the experience, I will definitely be doing it again next year with a whole new album of 2011 designs if all goes well.

Leave a Comment

